Birth Certificate ID Requirements in Texas
Requisitos de identificacion para las actas de nacimiento en Texas
Click on the following link to visit the Texas Bureau of Vital Statistics site on Birth & Death Indexes:
Download the Application for Birth/Death Certificates HERE.
Only a Qualified Applicant may obtain a copy of a birth or death certificate.
Q. Who is a Qualified Applicant?
A. 1. The registrant. The person named in the record.
2. The parent, child, brother, sister, spouse, grandparent, legal guardian or managing
conservator of the registrant. (Step & In laws included)
3. Legal representative, agent or other person acting under contract for the registrant.
Must provide a letter of permission and copy of identification from the registrant.
APPLICATIONS WITHOUT SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT, PHOTO ID, AND THE ATTACHED SWORN STATEMENT WILL NOT BE PROCESSED.
Any Texas birth certificate may be purchased in Burnet County. This office uses a remote access system to the State’s records dating, at this time from 1926 to the present. However, births are not usually available on the computer system for approximately 3 weeks after the date of birth.
Q. How much does it cost to obtain a birth certificate?
A. $23.00 per certified copy.
Q. How much does it cost for a copy of a death certificate?
A. $21.00 for the first copy and $4.00 for each additional copy.
Q. What information is needed to obtain a birth/death certificate?
A. The information required is the same for either a birth or death certificate and is as follows:
1. Full name on birth/death certificate
2. Date and place of birth/death
3. Parent 1- Full name including maiden name
4. Parent 2- Full name including maiden name
5. Name, address and phone number of the Requestor
6. Relationship to person on birth/death record
7. Valid identification
(Driver’s License/State ID Preferred)
8. Appropriate fee. Accepted forms of payment are: cash, cashier’s check, money order and personal checks.
Also accepted are credit cards: Mastercard, Visa and Discover
Q. May I obtain a birth/death certificate by mail?
A. Yes. Complete the application, Notarized Proof of Identification form, and send it to us via mail with payment and a legible copy of your valid identification to:
Vicinta Stafford, Burnet County Clerk
220 S. Pierce
Burnet Texas 78611.
Applications that are blurred or illegible will not be accepted. They must be printed in black print on white paper. The paper must be 8 1/2 inches by 11 inches, with no holes or perforations, at least medium (20 lb.) weight, and with a matte surface. Thermal paper, dye-sublimation paper, special inkjet paper, and other shiny-papers are not acceptable.