INDIGENT HEALTH CARE
IMMEDIATE PRESS RELEASE
To: All Media Advisories
Re: Burnet County Indigent Health Care Eligibility Standards
September 2022 – Burnet County will continue to use the following rules and procedures to comply with its state mandated responsibility under the Indigent Health Care Treatment Act effective September 1, 2022.
An application form can be obtained from the Burnet County Indigent Health Care office located at 220 S. Pierce St., Suite 111, Burnet, TX 78611, or by calling the office at 512 715-5280 to request an application be mailed. Assistance in completing the application will be provided upon request. Applications can also be download from the Burnet County website at www.burnetcountytexas.org/page/ihc.home.
Burnet County will use rules and procedures found in the County Indigent Health Care Program Handbook published by the Texas Department of State Health Services. The handbook is available online at https://hhs.texas.gov/laws-regulations/handbooks/cihcp/county-indigent-health-care-program-handbook.
In summary, the rules are as follows:
- Application must be completed.
- Applicants must meet eligibility requirements of income, residency in Burnet County, household composition, and resources.
- Applicants income must be at or below 21 percent of the Federal Poverty Income Level.
- Value of countable resources cannot exceed limits as determined by the Texas Department of State Health Services.
- Eligible persons must be a permanent legal resident of Burnet County and intend to stay.
- Applicant must provide all information and documentation requested or applicant will be denied.
- Applicants will be required to provide proof of application for SSI or proof of registration with the Texas Workforce Commission for the Job Search Program.Applicant must provide proof of registration and be actively seeking employment.
- Applicants have the right to appeal adverse decisions.
Presenting false information or securing medical benefits wrongfully may subject applicant to criminal and civil penalties. Eligible applicants must report any change in income, resources, household composition, address, and other circumstances affecting eligibility within 14 days to prevent an investigation into the possible filing of criminal or civil charges against them.
Burnet County will only accept and pay the standard payment rate as determined by the Texas department of State Health Services Medicaid Fee schedule or payment rates approved by the Burnet County Commissioners Court.
Without a written referral from a mandated provider, Burnet County has no obligation of financial responsibility for non-emergency services or prescription medication rendered to eligible residents by non-mandated providers.
Pursuant to Health and Safety Code Section 61.023(d), this Press Release will be posted on the Burnet County website http://www.burnetcountytexas.org and will be sent to local media.