Skip Navigation
Burnet County ESD Home

Click on each ESD link to see each boards web page

ESD #1 - HSB (EMS only)
ESD #2 - (Cassie Fire)
ESD #4 - (BERTRAM Fire)
ESD #5 - ELB 

An ESD is a political subdivision of the State of Texas independent of county government that may be formed to provide fire protection, emergency medical services or both in a defined area. ESD’s have independent taxing authority and their primary responsibility is managing those tax dollars in order to provide emergency services to their coverage area. ESD’s are governed by a board of five commissioners. Those commissioners are appointed by the County Commissioners for the county in which the ESD is located.  Other than the appointment or removal of commissioners and the right to receive reports and audits from the ESDs, County Government has no ongoing authority to direct ESD activities. Texas Health and Safety Code Chapter 775 <link to statute> governs the formation, regulation, and responsibilities of an ESD.

Links to the web pages for ESD’s in Burnet County are provided on the County Website as a convenience for citizens. Inquiries for further information should be directed to the ESD Board in question.


More about ESD’s

FAQ about ESD’s <Link this to the FAQ page -> provided by SAFE-D (Texas State Association of Fire and Emergency Districts) <Link this to the SAFE-D home page>

Copyright © - 2016 Burnet County, Texas, USA

powered by ezTaskTitanium TM